Sign In
A Network of Brokers Dedicated to the Insurance Needs of Design Professionals
Providing Insurance, Advice, Advocacy, Risk Management and Continuing Education since 1988
Over the years, a/e ProNet has established various national scholarship funds administered through professional societies. National scholarships are awarded principally to students of architecture and engineering schools where the applicant's studies emphasize practice management.
a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp Scholarship
(American Institute of Architects Scholarship)
Award: $2,500
​​This scholarship was initiated in 1990 and renamed in 1999 for David W. Lakamp. Mr. Lakamp was a founder of a/e ProNet and a trusted advisor to the profession. He left behind a legacy of professionalism and integrity that set new standards in the field of insurance services. The annual award is given to the student who best demonstrates strong interest in practice management. This year, two awards ($2,500 each) will be distributed.
The scholarship is open to fourth-year undergraduates, and graduate students of architecture enrolled in an NAAB-accredited professional degree program. The promotion and selection are handled entirely by AIA. Eligible candidates are required to submit an application to AIA's national headquarters in Washington, DC, on their standard application form. Submissions are reviewed by jury members of the AIA Practice Management Knowledge Community. Candidates must submit a copy of their transcripts, two letters of recommendation, and an essay on how they would resolve a project management dilemma.
The current application deadline is November 19, 2012.
Visit the education section of the AIA website to download a PDF of the 2012 a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp AIA Scholarship application.
Materials can be sent via email to in PDF format. Alternatively, a hard copy of the application and supporting materials can be sent by postal mail. All materials should be placed in one envelope and sent to:
AIA Scholarships
ATTN: Jamie Yeung
The American Institute of Architects
1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006-5292.

 Scholarship Winners

Year of AwardRecipient NameRecipient School
2011Gerald ReynoldsUniversity of Colorado, Denver
2011Hannah PempusMiami University
2010Amy Jo DentonUniversity of North Carolina, Charlotte
2010Michael SmithHarvard University
2010Kristin DrewsUniversity of Southern California
2004Cheryl Mollan
2002Sonia Marie Solt
2001Jeffrey Fiftal
© Copyright 2010 SiteName